Correspondence addressed to the Chief Postal Inspectors

Available reels: 4

Document Record

Correspondence addressed to the Chief Postal Inspectors
Correspondance adressée à l'inspecteur en chef des postes
RG 3 B 3
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Mail delivery within Canada first started in 1693 when the Portuguese born Pedro da Silva was paid to deliver mail between Quebec City and Montreal. Official postal services began in 1775 and was under the control of the British Government up to 1851. It was not until 1867 when the newly formed Dominion of Canada created the Post Office Department as a federal government department headed by a Cabinet minister, the Postmaster General of Canada. The Act took effect in April 1868, providing uniform postal service throughout the new country. In October 1908, the first free rural mail delivery service was instituted in Canada. The Post Office Department was also an early pioneer of airmail delivery with the first airmail flight taking place in June 1918, carrying mail from Montreal to Toronto. The Post Office Department was rebranded as "Canada Post" in the late 1960s, even though it had not yet been separated from the government. In October 1981, the Canada Post Corporation Act came into force, abolishing the Post Office Department and creating the present day Crown corporation which provides post service, the Canada Post Corporation.
From 1784 to 1850, Deputy Postmasters General were appointed in the Canadian colonies, subordinate to the Postmaster General in Britain. When the Province of Canada assumed control of the Post Office in 1851, the Office of the Deputy Postmaster General was temporarily abolished and replaced by a Secretary who was given most of the duties of the Deputy Postmaster General. The Office of the Deputy Postmaster General was reinstated in 1857 and continued until 1981, when the Post Office became a Crown corporation.
This collection consists of letterbooks containing copies of correspondence sent to the Chief Postal Inspector from the Office of the Deputy Postmaster General on a variety of subjects, including the establishment and closure of offices, appointments, resignations and dismissals, contractors for route service, mail boxes and investigations of post office practices.