Correctional Service of Canada : Stony Mountain Penitentiary (Winnipeg, Manitoba)

Available reels: 16

Document Record

Canada. Correctional Service Canada.
Correctional Service of Canada : Stony Mountain Penitentiary (Winnipeg, Manitoba)
RG 73 C 7
Law and justice
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) is the Canadian federal government agency responsible for the incarceration and rehabilitation of convicted criminal offenders sentenced to two years or more. The Correctional Service of Canada came into being on December 21, 1978. In 1868, the first Penitentiary Act brought prisons in Saint John, New Brunswick and Halifax, along with Kingston, under federal jurisdiction. Over the next twelve years, the federal government built Saint-Vincent-de-Paul Penitentiary in Saint-Vincent-de-Paul, Quebec (1873), Manitoba Penitentiary, in Stony Mountain, Manitoba (1877), British Columbia Penitentiary, in New Westminster, British Columbia (1878) and Dorchester Penitentiary, in Dorchester, New Brunswick (1880). The regime of these prisons included productive labour during the day, solitary confinement during leisure hours and the rule of silence at all times. While there was no parole, prisoners with good conduct could have three days per month remitted from their sentence. Today, the CSC, as part of the criminal justice system and respecting the rule of law, contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control
This collection consists of registry records from the Manitoba Penitentiary, Stony Mountain. These records are part of a much larger collection of prison registers for the Manitoba Penitentiary that are stored in the Federal Records Centre in Winnipeg. The records consist mainly of letterpress copies of correspondence which are sometimes badly faded and, in some instances, completely unreadable. Included are the Warden's letter books (1872 - 1913), Accountant's letter books (1878 - 1902), Surgeon's letter books (1885 - 1897) and Inspector's minute books (1882 - 1889). Also included are Inmate Admittance Books (1871 - 1921).