Department of Indian Affairs : Northern Superintendency, Division 1

Available reels: 8

Document Record

Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs.
Department of Indian Affairs : Northern Superintendency, Division 1
Ministère des Affaires indiennes : Surintendance du Nord, Division 1
MIKAN: 135588
Reels/Bobines: C-13373 to C-13376, C-13391 to C-13392, C-13407, C-13497
Archival Reference/Référence Archivistique: RG 10 C I 6 e|RG 10 C I 6 c|RG 10 D 5 a, R216-2-4-E, R216-2-4-F
Indigenous history
Histoire autochtone
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
In 1755, the British Crown established the British Indian Department, and responsibility for Indian Affairs rested on the Superintendents of Indian Affairs from 1755 to 1841. After 1843, the Governors General held control of Indian Affairs, but usually delegated much of their responsibility to a series of Civil Secretaries. In 1860, the responsibility for Indian affairs was transferred from the government of Great Britain to the Province of Canada and the responsibility for Indian Affairs was given to the Crown Lands Department Commissions Responsible for Indian Affairs. The responsibility for Indian Affairs rested with various government departments between 1873 and 1966. The Minister of the Interior also held the position of Superintendent General of Indian Affairs after the Indian Affairs Department was established in 1880. From 1950 to 1965, the Indian Affairs portfolio was carried by the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. In October 1966, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created. On June 13, 2011 the department was changed to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. In 2015 it was renamed Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and in 2017 it changed to Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada.
With the creation of a second superintendency in 1873, the remainder of the superintendency was given the name "Division 1." The "old" Northern Superintendency was dissolved in 1873 and a Superintendent was appointed to administer, from an office at the town of Manitowaning, the bands designated as the responsibility of the Northern Superintendency, Division 1 (i.e. those bands located on Manitoulin and Cockburn Islands, and on the shores of Georgian Bay/Lake Huron between Maganettawan and Thessalon River). In addition to the superintendent's office, there were also created within the area of the Northern Superintendency, Division 1, three Indian Lands offices (Thessalon - opened in 1877, Gore Bay - opened in 1878, and Cockburn Island - opened in 1879). In 1892, the Gore Bay and Cockburn Island Indian Lands Offices were amalgamated at Gore Bay. In 1898, the Northern Superintendency, Division 1 was dismantled and the Indian Land offices were abolished. A Thessalon Agency was created to administer the Thessalon River, Mississagi River, Serpent River, and Spanish River (Divisions 1 and 2) Bands; a Gore Bay Agency was created to administer the Cockburn Island, Sheshegwaning, Obidgewong, and West Bay bands; and a Manitowaning Agency was created to administer the remaining bands of the abolished Northern Superintendency, Division 1. In 1938, the Gore Bay and Manitowaning Indian agencies were amalgamated to create the Manitoulin Island Agency.
This collection consists of letterbooks, general operational and land records created and maintained in the Northern Superintendency, Division 1.
En 1755, la Couronne britannique a établi un département britannique des Affaires indiennes et, entre 1755 et 1841, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes relevait des surintendants des Affaires indiennes. À compter de 1843, les affaires indiennes étaient placées sous l’autorité des gouverneurs généraux qui déléguaient souvent une grande partie de leurs responsabilités à des secrétaires civils. En 1860, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes passa du gouvernement de la Grande-Bretagne à la province du Canada où des commissions du ministère des Terres de la Couronne en assumèrent la responsabilité. Entre 1873 et 1966, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes releva de divers ministères. Après la création du ministère des Affaires indiennes en 1880, le ministre de l’Intérieur occupait également le poste de surintendant général des Affaires indiennes. De 1950 à 1965, le portefeuille des Affaires indiennes relevait du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration. En octobre 1966, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien fut créé. Le 13 juin 2011, le ministère est devenu Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. En 2015, il a été rebaptisé Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AINC) et en 2017, il est devenu Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada.
Avec l’établissement d’une seconde surintendance en 1873, le reste de la surintendance fut appelée « Division 1 ». L’ancienne surintendance du Nord fut dissoute en 1873 et un surintendant fut nommé pour administrer, depuis un bureau à Manitowaning, les bandes confiées à la responsabilité de la surintendance du Nord, Division 1 (c’est-à-dire les bandes situées sur les îles Manitoulin et Cockburn et sur les rives de la baie Georgienne et du Lac Huron, entre Maganettawan et la rivière Thessalon). En plus du bureau du surintendant, on avait également ouvert, dans le secteur de la Division 1 de la surintendance du Nord, trois bureaux des terres indiennes (un à Thessalon en 1877, un à la baie Gore en 1878 et un à l’île Cockburn en 1879). En 1892, les bureaux des terres indiennes de la baie Gore et de l’île Cockburn furent fusionnés à la baie Gore. En 1898, la surintendance du Nord, Division1, fut démantelée et une agence fut créée à Thessalon pour administrer les bandes des rivières Thessalon, Mississagi, Serpent et Spanish (Divisions 1 et 2). Une agence fut aussi créée à la baie Gore pour administrer les bandes de l’île Cockburn, de Sheshegwaning, d’Obidgewong et de West Bay, puis une autre agence fut créée à Manitowaning pour administrer les dernières bandes de l’ancienne surintendance du Nord, Division 1. En 1938, les agences indiennes de la baie Gore et de Manitowaning furent fusionnées pour créer l’agence de l’île Manitoulin.
Cette collection est constituée de registres de copies de lettres, de documents opérationnels généraux et de registres fonciers créés et tenus à jour par la surintendance du Nord, Division 1.