Royal Canadian Air Force third file classification system and central registry

Available reels: 1

Document Record

Canada. Dept. of National Defence.
Royal Canadian Air Force third file classification system and central registry
Aviation royale du Canada - Troisième système de classification et service central des dossiers
RG 24 E 1 c
Law and justice
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
The Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) is the air force of Canada, and traces its history back to the Canadian Air Force which was formed in 1920. The Canadian Air Force was then incorporated into the Department of National Defence in 1923 and granted royal sanction in 1924. The RCAF is responsible for all aircraft operations of the Canadian Forces, enforcing the security of Canada's airspace, and providing aircraft to support the missions of the Royal Canadian Navy and the Canadian Army. The RCAF is a partner with the United States Air Force in protecting continental airspace under the North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD). The RCAF has served in the Second World War (where it was the fourth largest allied air force), the Korean War, the First Gulf War as well as several United Nations peacekeeping missions and NATO operations. As a NATO member, the force maintained a presence in Europe during the second half of the 20th century.
This collection consists of records of the third RCAF classification system adopted in 1947, when the three forces were again placed under the responsibility of the one Department of National Defence. The principal subjects covered are as follows: general program of activities; aeronautical companies; co-operation with International Civil Aviation Organizations, municipalities, government departments and foreign countries; air cadets; federal and provincial elections; bilingualism; meteorology; customs; general and historical information; statistics; parliamentary and departmental inquiries; inventions and original ideas; photography; maps and plans; complaints against the Crown; duties and responsibilities; handing-over and change of command; reports and returns; visits and inspections; trophies; regulations; dress; air traffic control; conferences and congresses; ceremonies (including the 1953 coronation of Queen Elizabeth II); orders and instructions; public relations; fanfares; civil defence; space engineering and research; chaplaincy; intelligence; telecommunications services; land defence; operational research; air safety; search and rescue; operational requirements; security; and air force police. There are also records relating to RCAF properties and lands and cover subjects such as acquisition, disposal, use, accommodation, weapons ranges, and maintenance.