Upper Canada/Canada West census returns : 1842-1861

Available reels: 4

Document Record

Census returns 1842 : Canada West
RG 31 C 1
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
This collection consists of the surviving records for the 1842 census of Canada West (now known as Ontario). At the time, Canada West was divided into 17 census districts, which were in turn divided into sub-districts. These sub-districts were made up of cities, towns, parishes, villages and townships. Only records from these 8 districts have survived: Ottawa District, Johnstown District, Bathurst District, Newcastle District, Home District, Niagara District, Gore District and London District. As well, the records for these 8 districts are incomplete, as the records for many of the sub-districts are missing. Please note that many of the records for the Home District (which includes York County and Simcoe County) present only aggregate data - no names are mentioned. Toronto, which was part of the Home District, does list names.
Reel C-1344 has records for the following Districts and sub-districts (listed in order of appearance on the film): Ottawa District (sub-district: Osgoode) ; Johnstown District (sub-district: Augusta) ; Bathurst District (sub-districts: Goulbourn, Nepean, Huntley, Fitzroy, Torbolton) ; Newcastle District (sub-districts: Hamilton and Cobourg, Haldimand, Cramahe, Murray, Percy, Seymour, Monoghan, Clarke, Darlington, Manvers, Cartwright) ; Home District ( lists: York County, Simcoe County, City of Toronto) ; Niagara District (sub-districts: Clinton, Gainsborough, Town of Niagara, Niagara, Stamford, Thorold, Wainfleet, Willoughby, Canboro, Cayuga, Rainham, Walpole) and the first part of Gore District (sub-district: Township of Trafalgar).
Reel C-1345 has records for the following Districts and sub-districts (listed in order of appearance on the film): Gore District continued (sub-districts: Esquising, Barton, Brantford (Indian Reservation) ; London District (sub-districts: Adelaide, Aldborough, Bayham, Caradoc, Dunwich, Delaware, Dorchester, north and south, Ekfrid, Lobo, Mosa, Malahide, Southwold, Westminister, Yarmouth, Township of London, City of London).