Department of Indian Affairs, Headquarters central registry system : First series

Available reels: 125

Document Record

Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs
Department of Indian Affairs, Headquarters central registry system : First series
Série " First "
RG 10 B 3 e iv
RG 10 B 3 e v
First series
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
In 1755, the British Crown established the British Indian Department, and responsibility for Indian Affairs rested on the Superintendents of Indian Affairs from 1755 to 1841. After 1843, the Governors General held control of Indian Affairs, but usually delegated much of their responsibility to a series of Civil Secretaries. In 1860, the responsibility for Indian affairs was transferred from the government of Great Britain to the Province of Canada and the responsibility for Indian Affairs was given to the Crown Lands Department Commissions Responsible for Indian Affairs. The responsibility for Indian Affairs rested with various government departments between 1873 and 1966. The Minister of the Interior also held the position of Superintendent General of Indian Affairs after the Indian Affairs Department was established in 1880. From 1950 to 1965, the Indian Affairs portfolio was carried by the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. In October 1966, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created. Today, the department is known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.
This collection consists of headquarters central registry files classified according to the duplex numeric filing system (the "First Series") introduced at department headquarters in 1923. In this system, file numbers are comprised of two elements - a subject block number (e.g., 62 - Membership) and an agency code (e.g., 131 - Lesser Slave Lake). Hence, in this example, file 62-131 documents membership issues in the Lesser Slave Lake Agency. Permanent volumes consist of files relating to the election of band councils, assistance to ex-pupils, horses, interest distribution, membership and leaves of absence, wildlife, natural resources, Indian claims, war service pensions and amendments to the Indian Act.