Department of Indian Affairs : Blood Agency

Available reels: 13

Document Record

Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs.
Department of Indian Affairs : Blood Agency
Ministère des Affaires indiennes : Agence de Blood
RG 10 C VI
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
In 1755, the British Crown established the British Indian Department, and responsibility for Indian Affairs rested on the Superintendents of Indian Affairs from 1755 to 1841. After 1843, the Governors General held control of Indian Affairs, but usually delegated much of their responsibility to a series of Civil Secretaries. In 1860, the responsibility for Indian affairs was transferred from the government of Great Britain to the Province of Canada and the responsibility for Indian Affairs was given to the Crown Lands Department Commissions Responsible for Indian Affairs. The responsibility for Indian Affairs rested with various government departments between 1873 and 1966. The Minister of the Interior also held the position of Superintendent General of Indian Affairs after the Indian Affairs Department was established in 1880. From 1950 to 1965, the Indian Affairs portfolio was carried by the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. In October 1966, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created. On June 13, 2011 the department was changed to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. In 2015 it was renamed Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and in 2017 it changed to Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada.
An Indian Agent was appointed in 1880 to administer the bands of the Treaty 7 area. Various Indian Agents eventually took over responsibilities for various divisions, but they were generally responsible for the Blackfoot, Stoney, Sarcee, Blood and Peigan bands. In 1885, the agency office that had been based at Fort MacLeod, Alberta, was moved to the Blood reserve and the agency became known as the Blood Agency.
Microfilm reels C-14297 and C-14838 to C-14840 contain subject files dealing with farm statements; leases; annuities; medical officers; hospitals; St. Mary's Industrial School; St. Paul's Industrial School; agency employees; and agents' reports.
Microfilm reels C-14255, C-14840 to C-14847 and T-1474 to T-1476 contain copies of letters sent by the agent of the Blood Agency between 1882 to 1906. The agents during this period were C.E. Denny (1882-1883), W. Pocklington (1884-1891), A.G. Irvine (1892), James Wilson (1893-1903), J.W. Jowett (1904), and R.N. Wilson (1905-1911). Most of the letters sections contain indexes; a few, however, do not. A farm instructor's letterbook from 1885 to 1894 is also included here.
Microfilm reel C-14297 consists of incoming correspondence containing letters received by the agent for the Blood Agency between 1899 to 1910. The agents during this period were James Wilson (1893-1903), J.W. Jowett (1904), and R.N. Wilson (1905-1911). This part of the collection is arranged in chronological order.
En 1755, la Couronne britannique a établi un département britannique des Affaires indiennes et, entre 1755 et 1841, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes relevait des surintendants des Affaires indiennes. À compter de 1843, les affaires indiennes étaient placées sous l’autorité des gouverneurs généraux qui déléguaient souvent une grande partie de leurs responsabilités à des secrétaires civils. En 1860, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes passa du gouvernement de la Grande-Bretagne à la province du Canada où des commissions du ministère des Terres de la Couronne en assumèrent la responsabilité. Entre 1873 et 1966, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes releva de divers ministères. Après la création du ministère des Affaires indiennes en 1880, le ministre de l’Intérieur occupait également le poste de surintendant général des Affaires indiennes. De 1950 à 1965, le portefeuille des Affaires indiennes relevait du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration. En octobre 1966, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien fut créé. Le 13 juin 2011, le ministère est devenu Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. En 2015, il a été rebaptisé Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AINC) et en 2017, il est devenu Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada.
En 1880, un agent autochtone a été nommé pour administrer le territoire des bandes du Traité no 7. D’autres agents autochtones ont éventuellement pris la relève dans les diverses divisions. En général, ils étaient chargés d’administrer les bandes Blackfoot, Stoney, Sarcee, Blood et Peigan. En 1885, le bureau de l’agence, qui se trouvait jusqu’alors au Fort MacLeod, a été transféré à la réserve de Blood et l’agence est devenue l’agence de Blood.
Les bobines de microfilms C-14297 et C-14838 à C-14840 contiennent des dossiers-matières traitant des rapports agricoles, des baux, des rentes, des médecins, des hôpitaux, de la St. Mary’s Industrial School, de la St. Paul’s Industrial School, des employés de l’agence et des rapports des agents.
Les bobines de microfilm C-14255, C-14840 à C-14847 et T-1474 à T-1476 contiennent des copies de lettres expédiées entre 1882 et 1906 par l’agent de Blood. Les agents qui se sont succédé durant cette période sont C.E. Denny (1882-1883), W. Pocklington (1884-1891), A.G. Irvine (1892), James Wilson (1893-1903), J.W. Jowett (1904), et R.N. Wilson (1905-1911). Sauf quelques exceptions, les différents segments de cette correspondance contiennent des index. On y trouve également le registre de courrier d’un instructeur agricole couvrant les années 1885 à 1894.
La bobine de microfilm C-14297 comprend la correspondance reçue entre 1899 et 1910 par l’agent de Blood. Les agents qui se sont succédé durant cette période sont James Wilson (1893-1903), J.W. Jowett (1904) et R.N. Wilson (1905-1911). Cette partie de la collection est classée en ordre chronologique.