Department of Indian Affairs : Carlton Agency

There is no content yet for this title. Please check again later.

Document Record

Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs.
Department of Indian Affairs : Carlton Agency
Ministère des Affaires indiennes : Agence de Carlton
MIKAN: 158917
Reels/Bobines: C-14867 to C-14869
Archival Reference/Référence Archivistique: RG 10 C VI, R216-401-7-E, R216-401-7-F
Indigenous history
Histoire autochtone
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
In 1755, the British Crown established the British Indian Department, and responsibility for Indian Affairs rested on the Superintendents of Indian Affairs from 1755 to 1841. After 1843, the Governors General held control of Indian Affairs, but usually delegated much of their responsibility to a series of Civil Secretaries. In 1860, the responsibility for Indian affairs was transferred from the government of Great Britain to the Province of Canada and the responsibility for Indian Affairs was given to the Crown Lands Department Commissions Responsible for Indian Affairs. The responsibility for Indian Affairs rested with various government departments between 1873 and 1966. The Minister of the Interior also held the position of Superintendent General of Indian Affairs after the Indian Affairs Department was established in 1880. From 1950 to 1965, the Indian Affairs portfolio was carried by the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. In October 1966, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created. On June 13, 2011 the department was changed to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. In 2015 it was renamed Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and in 2017 it changed to Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada.
The Carlton Agency in Saskatchewan was formally established in 1879, though there may have been an agent responsible for the agency’s bands as early as 1876. The Carlton Agency was also referred to variously as Prince Albert (1885-1887); Mistowasis (1887); Carlton & Montreal Lake (1888-1908); Carlton District; Prince Albert & Carlton District; Treaty 6 Centre Agency. In 1969, the name of the Carlton Agency was changed to the Prince Albert District.
Microfilm reels C-14867 to C-14868 includes records relating to employees, estimates, supplies and day schools; the Wahpaton Sioux, Treaty No. 10, annuities, memberships, Sissetons, schools and timber; Big River Reserve, livestock, administration and school pupils; circular letters and invoices.
Microfilm reel C-14869 consists of letterbooks created and maintained by the Carlton Agency during the years 1900 to 1902 and 1909.
En 1755, la Couronne britannique a établi un département britannique des Affaires indiennes et, entre 1755 et 1841, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes relevait des surintendants des Affaires indiennes. À compter de 1843, les affaires indiennes étaient placées sous l’autorité des gouverneurs généraux qui déléguaient souvent une grande partie de leurs responsabilités à des secrétaires civils. En 1860, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes passa du gouvernement de la Grande-Bretagne à la province du Canada où des commissions du ministère des Terres de la Couronne en assumèrent la responsabilité. Entre 1873 et 1966, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes releva de divers ministères. Après la création du ministère des Affaires indiennes en 1880, le ministre de l’Intérieur occupait également le poste de surintendant général des Affaires indiennes. De 1950 à 1965, le portefeuille des Affaires indiennes relevait du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration. En octobre 1966, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien fut créé. Le 13 juin 2011, le ministère est devenu Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. En 2015, il a été rebaptisé Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AINC) et en 2017, il est devenu Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada.
L’agence de Carlton en Saskatchewan a été officiellement mise sur pied en 1879 bien qu’il est possible qu’un agent ait eu la responsabilité de ces mêmes bandes dès 1876. L’agence de Carlton a aussi porté les noms de Prince Albert (1885-1887), Mistowasis (1887), Carlton et Montreal Lake (1888-1908), district de Carlton, district de Prince Albert et de Carlton, et Agence du centre du Traité no 6. En 1969, l’agence de Carlton est devenue le district de Prince Albert.
Les bobines de microfilm C-14867 et C-14868 comprennent des documents qui traitent des employés, des évaluations, des fournitures et des écoles de jour, des Sioux Wahpaton, du Traité no 10, des rentes, des membres au sein des bandes, des Sissetons, des écoles, du bois d’œuvre, de la réserve de Big River, du bétail, de l’administration et des élèves dans les écoles, des lettres circulaires et des factures.
La bobine de microfilm C-14869 contient des registres de courrier créés et conservés par l’agence de Carlton au cours des années 1900 à 1902 et 1909.