Department of Indian Affairs : Duck Lake Agency

Bobines disponibles : 10

Notice bibliographique du document

Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs.
Department of Indian Affairs : Duck Lake Agency
Ministère des Affaires indiennes : Agence de Duck Lake
MIKAN: 158951
Reels/Bobines: C-14857 to C-14867
Archival Reference/Référence Archivistique: RG 10 C VI, R216-429-7-E, R216-429-7-F
Indigenous history
Histoire autochtone
Document original
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
In 1755, the British Crown established the British Indian Department, and responsibility for Indian Affairs rested on the Superintendents of Indian Affairs from 1755 to 1841. After 1843, the Governors General held control of Indian Affairs, but usually delegated much of their responsibility to a series of Civil Secretaries. In 1860, the responsibility for Indian affairs was transferred from the government of Great Britain to the Province of Canada and the responsibility for Indian Affairs was given to the Crown Lands Department Commissions Responsible for Indian Affairs. The responsibility for Indian Affairs rested with various government departments between 1873 and 1966. The Minister of the Interior also held the position of Superintendent General of Indian Affairs after the Indian Affairs Department was established in 1880. From 1950 to 1965, the Indian Affairs portfolio was carried by the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. In October 1966, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created. On June 13, 2011 the department was changed to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. In 2015 it was renamed Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and in 2017 it changed to Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada.
The Duck Lake Agency in Saskatchewan was established in October 1887. The agency was responsible for bands in Treaty 6, (Sandy Lake, Muskeg Lake, One Arrow, Nut Lake, Okemasis, John Smith, James Smith, William Twatts, Beardy and Kinistino Bands). In 1969, the Duck Lake and Shellbrook Agencies merged to form the Saskatoon District.
Microfilm reels C-14857 to C-14858 consist of incoming correspondence comprising letters received by the agent for Duck Lake. The collection is arranged in chronological order.
Microfilm reels C-14858 to C-14860 consist of general operational records and deal with a variety of topics ranging from mundane administrative detail to issues such as lands, membership, annuities, residential schools.
Microfilm reels C-14860 to C-14867 consist of letterbooks containing letters written by the agent at Duck Lake. Only a few of these volumes contain indexes.
En 1755, la Couronne britannique a établi un département britannique des Affaires indiennes et, entre 1755 et 1841, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes relevait des surintendants des Affaires indiennes. À compter de 1843, les affaires indiennes étaient placées sous l’autorité des gouverneurs généraux qui déléguaient souvent une grande partie de leurs responsabilités à des secrétaires civils. En 1860, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes passa du gouvernement de la Grande-Bretagne à la province du Canada où des commissions du ministère des Terres de la Couronne en assumèrent la responsabilité. Entre 1873 et 1966, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes releva de divers ministères. Après la création du ministère des Affaires indiennes en 1880, le ministre de l’Intérieur occupait également le poste de surintendant général des Affaires indiennes. De 1950 à 1965, le portefeuille des Affaires indiennes relevait du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration. En octobre 1966, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien fut créé. Le 13 juin 2011, le ministère est devenu Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. En 2015, il a été rebaptisé Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AINC) et en 2017, il est devenu Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada.
L’agence de Duck Lake en Saskatchewan a été mise sur pied en octobre 1887. Elle avait la responsabilité des bandes du Traité no 6 (les bandes de Sandy Lake, Muskeg Lake, One Arrow, Nut Lake, Okemasis, John Smith, James Smith, William Twatts, Beardy et Kinistino). En 1969, les agences de Duck Lake et de Shellbrook ont fusionné pour former le district de Saskatoon.
Les bobines de microfilm C-14857 et C-14858 contiennent la correspondance reçue par l’agent de Duck Lake. La collection est classée par ordre chronologique.
Les bobines de microfilm C-14858 à C-14860 comprennent les documents généraux d’exploitation couvrant tout un éventail de sujets, allant des détails administratifs mondains jusqu’à des sujets tels que les terres, les membres des bandes, les rentes et les pensionnats.
Les bobines de microfilm C-14860 à C-14867 sont constituées de registres de lettres rédigées par l’agent de Duck Lake. Seuls quelques-uns de ces registres contiennent des index.