Department of Indian Affairs : Fort Smith Agency

There is no content yet for this title. Please check again later.

Document Record

Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs.
Department of Indian Affairs : Fort Smith Agency
Ministère des Affaires indiennes : Agence de Fort Smith
RG 10 C VI
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
In 1755, the British Crown established the British Indian Department, and responsibility for Indian Affairs rested on the Superintendents of Indian Affairs from 1755 to 1841. After 1843, the Governor General held control of Indian Affairs, but usually delegated much of their responsibility to a series of Civil Secretaries. In 1860, the responsibility for Indian affairs was transferred from the government of Great Britain to the Province of Canada and the responsibility for Indian Affairs was given to the Crown Lands Department Commissions Responsible for Indian Affairs. The responsibility for Indian Affairs rested with various government departments between 1873 and 1966. The Minister of the Interior also held the position of Superintendent General of Indian Affairs after the Indian Affairs Department was established in 1880. From 1950 to 1965, the Indian Affairs portfolio was carried by the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. In October 1966, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created. On June 13, 2011 the department was changed to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. In 2015 it was renamed Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and in 2017 it changed to Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada.
The first agency offices in what is now the Northwest Territories were those opened in 1911 at Fort Smith and Fort Simpson. The Fort Smith Agency at that time was responsible for bands at Fort Resolution and Hay River, Fort Smith and Fort Fitzgerald, as well as northeastern Treaty 8 bands located in Alberta and Saskatchewan. Responsibility for the Hay River and Fort Resolution bands was later transferred to another agency. The agency later relocated and changed names, but was then reestablished at Fort Smith. However, responsibilities for certain Aboriginal bands changed over time. In 1966, the Fort Smith Agency was amalgamated with the agencies at Fort Simpson, Yellowknife, and Aklavik, to form the District of Mackenzie.
Microfilm reel T-10081 consists of treaty annuity paylists.
En 1755, la Couronne britannique a établi un département britannique des Affaires indiennes et, entre 1755 et 1841, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes relevait des surintendants des Affaires indiennes. À compter de 1843, les affaires indiennes étaient placées sous l’autorité des gouverneurs généraux qui déléguaient souvent une grande partie de leurs responsabilités à des secrétaires civils. En 1860, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes passa du gouvernement de la Grande-Bretagne à la province du Canada où des commissions du ministère des Terres de la Couronne en assumèrent la responsabilité. Entre 1873 et 1966, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes releva de divers ministères. Après la création du ministère des Affaires indiennes en 1880, le ministre de l’Intérieur occupait également le poste de surintendant général des Affaires indiennes. De 1950 à 1965, le portefeuille des Affaires indiennes relevait du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration. En octobre 1966, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien fut créé. Le 13 juin 2011, le ministère est devenu Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. En 2015, il a été rebaptisé Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AINC) et en 2017, il est devenu Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada.
Les premiers bureaux de l’agence située dans la région actuelle des Territoires du Nord-Ouestont ouvert leurs portes en 1911 à Fort Smith et à Fort Simpson. À l’époque, l’agence de Fort Smith avait la responsabilité des bandes de Fort Resolution et de Hay River, de Fort Smith et de Fort Fitzgerald, ainsi que des bandes de la partie nord-est du Traité no 8 situées en Alberta et en Saskatchewan. La responsabilité des bandes de Hay River et de Fort Resolution fut ultérieurement transférée à une autre agence. L’agence fut éventuellement transférée et changea de nom avant de revenir à Fort Smith. Cependant, les responsabilités pour certaines bandes autochtones furent modifiées avec le temps. En 1966, l’agence de Fort Smith a été fusionnée avec les agences de Fort Simpson, Yellowknife et Aklavik pour former le district de Mackenzie.
La bobine de microfilm T-10081 est constituée de liste de rentes versées en vertu des traités.