Minutes of Indian Band Councils

Available reels: 13

Document Record

Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs.
Minutes of Indian Band Councils
Procès-verbaux des conseils de bandes indiennes
RG 10 B 8 O
Document source
Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
In 1755, the British Crown established the British Indian Department, and responsibility for Indian Affairs rested on the Superintendents of Indian Affairs from 1755 to 1841. After 1843, the Governors General held control of Indian Affairs, but usually delegated much of their responsibility to a series of Civil Secretaries. In 1860, the responsibility for Indian affairs was transferred from the government of Great Britain to the Province of Canada and the responsibility for Indian Affairs was given to the Crown Lands Department Commissions Responsible for Indian Affairs. The responsibility for Indian Affairs rested with various government departments between 1873 and 1966. The Minister of the Interior also held the position of Superintendent General of Indian Affairs after the Indian Affairs Department was established in 1880. From 1950 to 1965, the Indian Affairs portfolio was carried by the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. In October 1966, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created. On June 13, 2011 the department was changed to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. In 2015 it was renamed Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and in 2017 it changed to Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada.
This collection consists of minutes of Indian Band Councils created and maintained by the Department. The records in this series include minutes of Band Council meetings for the following: Caughnawaga, 1889-1921; Christian Island, 1901; Cape Croker, 1904-1909; Georgina Island, 1897-1935; Gore Bay, 1903; Garden River, 1905; New Credit, 1883-1910; Oka, 1916-1935; Pointe Bleue, 1902; Parry Sound, 1908-1930, Pierre-ville, 1900-1910; Rama, 1899-1908; Rice Lake, 1901-1906; Restigouche, 1899-1906; Sarnia, 1909; Saugeen, 1903-1909; Six Nations, 1876-1949; St. Regis, 1915-1921; Tyendinaga, 1902-1908; Temiskaming, 1909- 1910; Viger, 1893-1935; Walpole Island, 1902-1919; Vancouver, 1923-1939.
En 1755, la Couronne britannique a établi un département britannique des Affaires indiennes et, entre 1755 et 1841, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes relevait des surintendants des Affaires indiennes. À compter de 1843, les affaires indiennes étaient placées sous l’autorité des gouverneurs généraux qui déléguaient souvent une grande partie de leurs responsabilités à des secrétaires civils. En 1860, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes passa du gouvernement de la Grande-Bretagne à la province du Canada où des commissions du ministère des Terres de la Couronne en assumèrent la responsabilité. Entre 1873 et 1966, la responsabilité des affaires indiennes releva de divers ministères. Après la création du ministère des Affaires indiennes en 1880, le ministre de l’Intérieur occupait également le poste de surintendant général des Affaires indiennes. De 1950 à 1965, le portefeuille des Affaires indiennes relevait du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration. En octobre 1966, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien fut créé. Le 13 juin 2011, le ministère est devenu Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. En 2015, il a été rebaptisé Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AINC) et en 2017, il est devenu Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada.
Cette collection contient les procès-verbaux des conseils de bandes indiennes créées et tenues à jour par le Ministère. Les documents de cette série comprennent les procès-verbaux des réunions des conseils de bandes suivantes : Caughnawaga (1889-1921), Christian Island (1901), Cape Croker (1904-1909), Georgina Island (1897-1935), Gore Bay (1903), Garden River (1905), New Credit (1883-1910), Oka (1916-1935), Pointe Bleue (1902), Parry Sound (1908-1930), Pierre-ville (1900-1910), Rama (1899-1908), Rice Lake (1901-1906), Restigouche (1899-1906), Sarnia (1909), Saugeen (1903-1909), Six Nations (1876-1949), St. Regis (1915-1921), Tyendinaga (1902-1908), Temiskaming (1909- 1910), Viger (1893-1935), Walpole Island (1902-1919) et Vancouver (1923-1939).